Clara Schumann

When Clara Schumann moved into their first joint apartment in the Inselstraße 5 (today 18) in Leipzig with Robert Schumann on her 21st birthday on September 13th 1840, she could already look back on a brilliant career as a pianist, but also on a grueling court trial against her father, Friedrich Wieck, to secure legal permission to marry.

Having finally seen her wishes come true – the wedding had taken place the day before in the church of Schönefeld – Clara now faced new challenges. Robert had already written her in 1839: “The first year of our marriage you should forget the artist (sic), shouldn’t live for anything but yourself and your house and your husband…”

The famous marriage diary, a gift from Robert for her 21st birthday and in which the married couple took turns writing, not only presents a thorough account of the artist couple’s life together; it was also meant to express wishes, hopes, requests, in some cases also intercession and reconciliation.  Above all, the diary aimed to document Robert and Clara’s progress as artists. Thus, Clara does not shy away from complaining:  “My piano playing once again is pushed to the very back, which is always the case when Robert is composing. Not one little hour in the whole day can be found for me!”

Instead, as a newlywed woman, she had to learn to run a household, care for her husband, and tend a little garden. Very soon, motherly duties were added to these, as the first daughter Marie was born on September 1st 1841.  Additionally, many guests were welcomed at the Inselstraße – Robert praising Clara in her new role. Forgoing her usual piano playing, Clara was richly compensated by the intellectual stimulation:  Together with Robert she studied Bach’s fugal works, read Goethe and Shakespeare.  Clara, who often doubted her own talents in composing, was highly encouraged by Robert to create works of her own.  And so in addition to the Piano Pieces op. 14 and 15, Clara especially wrote Lieder, three of which Robert included in their joint collection “12 poems from Friedrich Rückert’s ‘Liebesfrühling’.”

Full of enthusiasm, Clara follows the development of the “Spring Symphony” and the chamber music works. She is elated by the Piano Quintet, Op. 44, which is dedicated to her and which she premieres during a “Musical Morning Matinee” hosted by the Schumann couple on January 8th 1843 in the Gewandhaus.

Starting in 1842, Clara returned to a fuller schedule of concertizing. She was afraid of being forgotten as a pianist and also wished to contribute to the family income.  An extended trip brought the married couple to Northern Germany.  Since Robert was very unhappy in his role as travel companion, Clara traveled on to Denmark by herself, where she completed a very successful tour.  In their marriage diaries, Robert writes her:  “Our separation has once again made me feel our uniquely difficult situation. Am I supposed to neglect my talent, in order to serve as your companion on the trip?  And you, should you leave your talent behind, just because I am bound to journal and piano?”

In the spring of 1844, the Schumanns undertook a four-month-long tour to Russia, during which Clara was greatly honored and which brought about a considerable financial success. Unfortunately, the tour also caused Robert much psychological and physical strain.  His inability to recuperate, even after returning from their journey, may explain their subsequent move to Dresden.

The marriage diary closes with a very descriptive report of their Russian tour, which Clara penned in June 1844, using Robert’s notes as a basis.  After a farewell matinee on December 8th 1844 in the Gewandhaus in Leipzig, Robert and Clara Schumann move into the Waisenhausstraße in Dresden with their two daughters, Marie and Elise.

Clara Schumann geb. Wieck

Als Clara Schumann an ihrem 21. Geburtstag, dem 13. September 1840, in der Leipziger Inselstraße 5 (heute 18) ihre erste gemeinsame Wohnung mit Robert Schumann bezog, lag hinter ihr eine glanzvolle Pianistenkarriere, aber auch ein zermürbender Prozess gegen ihren Vater Friedrich Wieck um die Eheerlaubnis.

Endlich am Ziel ihrer Wünsche - die Trauung hatte am Vortag in der Kirche Schönefeld stattgefunden, stand Clara nun vor neuen Herausforderungen. Schon 1839 hatte Robert geschrieben: „Das erste Jahr unserer Ehe sollst Du die Künstlerin vergeßen (sic), sollst nichts als Dir und Deinem Haus und Deinem Mann leben ...

Das berühmte Ehetagebuch, das ihr Robert zum 21. Geburtstag geschenkt hatte und mit dessen Führung sich die Eheleute abwechselten, diente nicht allein dazu, den Lebenslauf des Künstlerpaares sorgfältig aufzuzeichnen; es sollte auch Wünsche, Hoffnungen, Bitten, notfalls auch Vermittlung und Versöhnung aussprechen, vor allem aber vom Fortschreiten Roberts und Claras auf allen künstlerischen Gebieten berichten. So scheut sich Clara denn auch nicht, zu klagen: „Mein Clavierspiel kommt wieder ganz hintenan, was immer der Fall ist, wenn Robert componiert. Nicht ein Stündchen im ganzen Tag findet sich für mich!

Stattdessen musste sie als frisch Vermählte lernen, einen Haushalt zu führen, den Ehemann zu umsorgen und ein Gärtchen zu pflegen. Sehr bald kamen Mutterpflichten hinzu, die erste Tochter Marie wurde am 1. September 1841 geboren. Dazu wurden viele Gäste in der Inselstraße empfangen — Robert lobt Clara in ihrer neuen Rolle. Reichlich entschädigt für den Verzicht auf ihr Klavierspiel wurde Clara durch die geistigen Anregungen: Gemeinsam mit Robert studierte sie Bachs Fugenwerk, las Goethe und Shakespeare. Clara, die ihr Talent zur Komposition oft bezweifelt, wird durch Robert zu eigenem Schaffen ermutigt, und so entstehen in der Inselstraße außer den Klavierstücken op. 14 und 15 vor allem Lieder, von denen Robert drei in die gemeinsame Sammlung „12 Gedichte aus Friedrich Rückert’s Liebesfrühling“ aufnimmt.

Voller Entzücken begleitet Clara die Entstehung der „Frühlingssinfonie“ und der Kammermusikwerke, sie begeistert sich am Klavierquintett op. 44, das ihr gewidmet ist und das sie in einer „Musikalischen Morgen-Unterhaltung“ des Ehepaars Schumann am 8. Januar 1843 im Gewandhaus uraufführt.

Ab 1842 nahm Clara ihre Konzerttätigkeit in größerem Umfang wieder auf. Sie fürchtete, als Pianistin vergessen zu werden und wünschte auch, zum Familieneinkommen beizutragen. Eine größere Reise führte das Ehepaar im Frühjahr 1842 nach Norddeutschland. Da sich Robert in seiner Rolle als Reisebegleiter sehr unglücklich fühlte, reiste Clara allein weiter nach Dänemark, wo sie sehr erfolgreich war. Im Ehetagebuch schreibt Robert: “Die Trennung hat mir unsere sonderbar schwierige Stellung wieder recht fühlbar gemacht. Soll ich denn mein Talent vernachlässigen, um dir als Begleiter auf der Reise zu dienen? Und du, sollst du deshalb dein Talent ungenutzt lassen, weil ich nun einmal an Zeitung und Clavier gefesselt bin?

Im Frühjahr 1844 unternahmen die Schumanns eine viermonatige Russlandtournee, die für Clara viel Ehre und einen beachtlichen finanziellen Erfolg brachte, Robert dagegen physisch und psychisch sehr belastete. Dass er sich auch nach der Reise nicht wieder erholte, mag einer der Gründe sein, die zum Wohnungswechsel nach Dresden führten.

Das Ehetagebuch schließt mit einem sehr anschaulichen Bericht der Russlandreise, den Clara im Juni 1844 aufgrund von Roberts Notizen anfertigte. Nach einer Abschiedsmatinee am 8. Dezember 1844 im Leipziger Gewandhaus zogen Robert und Clara Schumann mit ihren Töchtern Marie und Elise nach Dresden in die Waisenhausstraße.